Nipigon Freelance

Writer, Editor & Graphic Designer For Hire

YOU DON’T HAVE TO HIT ME OVER THE HEAD SPICE COOKIES

image

My husband bought a bunch of ginger for just an insanely good price and for days I’ve thought, “I should make some cookies with that,” but my allergies are acting up and allergy medication makes me sleepy, so I’m grouchy and lazy basically. Of course, cookies might actually help, especially spicy ones and when I’m grouchy I reach for the sugar anyway, but store-bought junk isn’t really satisfying, so I just want more which isn’t helpful.

My higher self keeps pushing the idea of cookies, but I keep resisting because that’s silly right? Who’s higher self suggests cookies. That’s got to be just the ego or the id or something, some kind of primal urge I should ignore, except I’m not ignoring it. It keeps coming up.

“All right fine! I’ll check how much butter I have: 1 cup exactly, just like the recipe.”

“How much molasses? I probably don’t have enough, so it will probably have to wait, but I’ll measure it and see.”

“Oh, I have exactly 1/3 cup, just like the recipe!”

“Now, the spices. Where is the all-spice?” I’m still tired and cranky, so I start slamming the spice jars around. All-spice berries promptly fall directly on my head! “Are you kidding!” I was looking for the dried pre-ground stuff, but maybe I better grind it fresh before the mortar and pestle fall on my head too, same for the cardamom.

“Oh come on! There is no baking soda. How can I have everything else but baking soda? That tears it! If it was a universal, higher call to make cookies, I definitely wouldn’t be out of baking soda, but maybe there is some up in the bathroom for cleaning.” 

“Nope . . . Oh well . . . But wait! There it is right in the center of the still-open, lazy’susan, where I couldn’t possibly have missed it the first time. I guess I’m making cookies!

DRY INGREDIENTS (MEDIUM BOWL)

1-1/3 cup all-purpose flour & 1 cup whole wheat flour, spooned into measuring cup and leveled-off

1/4 teaspoon freshly ground allspice berries

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground cardamom

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon salt

WET INGREDIENTS (TALL BATTER BOWL OR LARGE BOWL)

2 sticks (1 cup) unsalted butter, softened but still cool

1/2 cup each of sugar and brown sugar

2 teaspoons freshly grated ginger (If you like them spicy, add 1/2 teaspoon of dried ginger too)

1 large egg

1/3 cup molasses

GARNISH

1/2 cup sugar to roll the cookies in

1) Place one egg in a bowl of hot water so it isn’t cold right out of the fridge.

2) Add all-purpose and whole wheat flours to a medium bowl. Grind allspice and cardamom with a mortar and pestle, then add it to the flour with pepper, salt and baking soda. Whisk with a fork and set aside.

3) Using an electric mixer, beat ½ cup of sugar, and ½ cup of brown sugar and butter until light and fluffy, 3-5 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary.

4) Add the egg and beat for about 20 seconds, then scrape down the sides of the bowl.

5) Add the molasses, mix well and scrape down the sides of the bowl again.

6) Add the dry ingredients, then mix on low-speed until just incorporated. Do not over mix. The dough will be very soft; refrigerate it for 40 min-one hour, or until firm enough to roll.

7) Set rack in the middle of the oven and preheat the oven to 350°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

8) Place the remaining ½ cup of sugar for the garnish in a cereal bowl. Form the dough into 1-inch balls, or use a medium cookie scoop. Roll in the sugar to coat. Place the balls on the prepared baking sheet about 2 inches apart (they will spread a lot), then flatten slightly with your knuckles to about 1/2 inch thick.

9) Bake for 10-14 minutes, until set and golden on the outside and slightly soft on the inside. (As they bake, they will puff up and then flatten. Do not remove them from the oven until they are flat.)

10) Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes, then transfer them to a wire rack to cool completely. Refrigerate the dough between batches. The cookies will keep for several days in an airtight container.

Adapted From:

http://www.onceuponachef.com/2009/12/crispy-ginger-cookies.html

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 26, 2016 by in Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Hire Me:

HIRE ME

Email Me:

EMAIL ME

View Video:

